[FFmpeg-user] Fwd: excessive bounces

Reindl Harald h.reindl at thelounge.net
Mon Jul 16 12:17:52 CEST 2012

Am 16.07.2012 11:57, schrieb Nicolas George:
> Le nonidi 29 messidor, an CCXX, Reindl Harald a écrit :
>> well, datafilehost.com is blacklisted........
>> i have whitelisted the mailing-list for my personal account
>> but i doubt this problem affects not only me
> I confirm this kind of URL is rejected as spam. But I am not sure it will
> affect many persons: it affects people on the same mail server as you, and
> probably the mail servers that use the same stupid spam detection service.

clear, i thought it would be good to inform here

> There is not much you can do, apart from whitelisting the list as you did
> and possibly reporting the problem to the mail administrator

i am the mail-admin :-)

> (rejecting mails solely based on URLs that can pretty well be legitimate 
> is not a good policy at all)

it is a good policy

"Zero-Hour-Intent" means there was a lot of spam containing this URL
and Barracuda Networks was notfied by customers as they flagged the
spam which means the flagged messages are sent to Barracuda

usually this sort of blacklisting catchs varying spam containing
always the same URLs while obfuscating the content permanently

> I have found that commercial spam-protection services were frequently as bad
> as spam, in a different way. As for me, I am pretty satisfied with my site's
> greylisting plus a personal bogofilter.

i had days where our Barracuda appliance blocked up to 500.000 spam messages
per day - depends on for how many mail-addresses you are the MX

we are for > 10.000 speard all over the world

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: signature.asc
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 262 bytes
Desc: OpenPGP digital signature
URL: <http://ffmpeg.org/pipermail/ffmpeg-user/attachments/20120716/5fefda61/attachment.asc>

More information about the ffmpeg-user mailing list