[FFmpeg-devel] [DECISION] Include more developers in the voting committee [#2]

Michael Niedermayer michael at niedermayer.cc
Sun Oct 25 01:53:07 CEST 2015

Hi all

Heres another suggested addition to the voting committee
also off topic but i wonder if "[DECISSION]" in the subject is the best
choice for this

I Suggest to add all people who pushed or pull-requested 20 or more commits
according to the commiter field in the last year (the initial voting committee
members where based on the Author field)

I used the following to generate the list (this sadly can still change if
people push changes with commit dates in the past, i suggest that such cases
wont be considered)
The command explicitly excludes "enemy merges" as these have not been
requested by the commiters
excluding all merges results in a list with the same people just
somewhat different numbers

git log libav/master..master --no-merges  --since=2014-10-25T00:00:00Z --until 2015-10-25T00:00:00Z --pretty=fuller | grep '^Commit:' | sed 's/<.*//' |sort | uniq -c | sort -nr

most of these developers are already in the voting committee
here is the list that command generated locally at around 1 o clock local time

   3691 Commit:     Michael Niedermayer
    334 Commit:     Paul B Mahol
    242 Commit:     Clément Bœsch
    205 Commit:     Carl Eugen Hoyos
    203 Commit:     James Almer
    154 Commit:     Ronald S. Bultje
    115 Commit:     Rostislav Pehlivanov
     88 Commit:     Lukasz Marek
     77 Commit:     Andreas Cadhalpun
     64 Commit:     Reynaldo H. Verdejo Pinochet
     56 Commit:     Stefano Sabatini
     44 Commit:     Hendrik Leppkes
     40 Commit:     Marton Balint
     39 Commit:     Nicolas George
     38 Commit:     Philip Langdale
     37 Commit:     Timothy Gu
     29 Commit:     wm4
     27 Commit:     Ganesh Ajjanagadde
     20 Commit:     Reimar Döffinger
     20 Commit:     Lou Logan

The newly added developers would be
    Ganesh Ajjanagadde
    Lou Logan
    Marton Balint
    Philip Langdale
    Reimar Döffinger

All of them have also contributed significantly outside of just self
pushed commits.
I belive they all should be on the voting comittee

Identical to the last suggested addition,
I suggest a deadline for making a decision on these 5 people of 15 days
starting now.

also, if there are any mistakes in the list or the command used to
generate it please complain now or dont complain later

Michael     GnuPG fingerprint: 9FF2128B147EF6730BADF133611EC787040B0FAB

Freedom in capitalist society always remains about the same as it was in
ancient Greek republics: Freedom for slave owners. -- Vladimir Lenin
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: signature.asc
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 181 bytes
Desc: Digital signature
URL: <http://ffmpeg.org/pipermail/ffmpeg-devel/attachments/20151025/50252d13/attachment.sig>

More information about the ffmpeg-devel mailing list